Hey Macker, Do You Want Tim’s Job or Charlie’s?


The Politico reports that former Democratic National Committee chairman Terry McAuliffe thinks he’s running for governor of Florida, not Virginia. He’s caught on tape during a campaign appearance in Prince William County talking about the research universities in Florida. As Politico points out, McAuliffe was once mentioned as a candidate for governor in Florida, where he has several real estate investments.

Florida does not have a state income tax and many wealthy people establish their residency there for tax purposes. While McAuliffe tells us he’s lived in McLean, Virginia for the last 20 years, if I were working in opposition research for one of his opponents, I’d check on that.

In my view, McAuliffe represents everything people hate about politics and he has no business running for anything. The Washington Post’s Marc Fisher said it best:

Is Virginia ready for a governor whose appearances on the cable TV shoutfests included one in which he wore a Hawaiian shirt while swinging a bottle of Bacardi Gold and yukking it up with the hosts? Or, to put it another way, could a state in a grim budget situation use a chief executive who once wrestled a 280-pound alligator to land a $15,000 donation from a Florida Indian tribe?

So that leaves me to choose between Brian Moran and Creigh Deeds. Any recommendations?

1 Comment

Filed under Virginia Governor's Campaign

One response to “Hey Macker, Do You Want Tim’s Job or Charlie’s?

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, I’ve spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

Leave a Reply

