Limbaugh Beats Steele in Zoolander Walkoff: Gingrey Cheers


Just in, Michael Steele caved and apologized to Rush Limbaugh. Wow, that was quick!

So when Steele earlier today said this:

Rahm Emanuel and the Democrats know they lose an argument with the Republican Party on substance so they are building straw men to attack and distract. The feud between radio host Rush and Rahm makes great political theater, but it is a sideshow to the important work going on in Washington. RNC Chairman Michael Steele and elected Republicans are focused on fighting for reform and winning elections. The Democrats’ problem is that the American people are growing skeptical of the massive government spending being pushed by Congressional leaders like Nancy Pelosi.

He really meant to say what he told the Politico about an hour ago:

My intent was not to go after Rush – I have enormous respect for Rush Limbaugh. I was maybe a little bit inarticulate. … There was no attempt on my part to diminish his voice or his leadership.

I went back at that tape and I realized words that I said weren’t what I was thinking. It was one of those things where I thinking I was saying one thing, and it came out differently. What I was trying to say was a lot of people … want to make Rush the scapegoat, the bogeyman, and he’s not.

Asked if he planned to apologize, Steele said:

I wasn’t trying to offend anybody. So, yeah, if he’s offended, I’d say: Look, I’m not in the business of hurting people’s feelings here. … My job is to try to bring us all together.

Oh and that laughter you heard just now, is from GOP Congressman Phil Gingrey of Georgia, who kissed Limbaugh’s ass earlier this year.

3 Comments

Filed under House Republicans, Senate Republicans

3 responses to “Limbaugh Beats Steele in Zoolander Walkoff: Gingrey Cheers

  1. Nooooooooo! I didn’t even have time to grab any booze and get comfortable on my couch.

  2. Pingback: Steele: Feud with Rush was “all Strategic” « Fake Virginia

Leave a Reply

