In memory of the 149 Virginians killed in Iraq and Afghanistan


This Memorial Day, I wanted to take a moment to remember the 149 Virginians who have given their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan. My prayers are especially with their loved ones. The gratitude of the nation is not enough.

I am particularly praying for the family of Cpl. Ryan C. McGhee, 21, of Fredericksburg. He is the latest Virginian to die in service to our country — he passed awayjust 12 days ago. Cpl. McGhee was on his fourth tour; he died from wounds he received in Iraq and is buried in Arlington Cemetery not too far from where I am as I write.

Words can not express how sorry I am for the loss of his family, particularly his fiancee whom he was to marry next year. My hope and prayer for Cpl. McGhee’s loved ones is that they receive God’s comfort as they grieve this terrible loss.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “In memory of the 149 Virginians killed in Iraq and Afghanistan

  1. Memorial Day, when we pretend that we live in a free country because of all the people who were killed in the government’s senseless wars.

    • I’ll be honest. I hesitated to approve your comment. But I chose to do so so I could reply. Regardless of what you think of the two wars we are fighting or any other war our country has fought, I would hope that you could respect those who gave up their lives in the line of duty. (I’m assuming that you do, but you don’t quite realize that your comment came off in a way that indicates otherwise.)

      The truth is, we do enjoy freedom in this country because of those who died in service to us. In fact, I am quite sure we wouldn’t have a country were it it not for those who died as they fought to defend it. So I don’t know what you mean when you say “pretend”.

      I do agree with you that there are some senseless wars in our past and our present. The war in Iraq is at the top of that list, in my book. But that doesn’t diminish the sacrifice that those who have died there. It does diminish the wisdom of our Congress and our President who led us there.

      (I hope I misunderstood the intent of your comment.)

      But I honestly don’t believe the focus of today should be on how we got into war — whether it’s the one in Iraq, Afghanistan or a war in our nation’s past. Instead, I believe it should be focused on those who died in the line of duty.

Leave a Reply

